Zucchini Noodles with Tomatoes, Papaya, and Avocados

Ken usually has a pretty bad case of Monday Blues, so I try to do what I can to keep his Monday lunches looking happy (personally I think all food is happy food… I kind of just love to shove things in the general direction of my mouth). He also happens to be a little bit of a health nut — always calculating calories, carbohydrates, sugars…etc. So I decided to try out these zucchini noodles that I stumbled upon a while back!

I didn’t really follow any recipe for this, because it was super simple. Here’s what I did to prepare the noodles:

Run a vegetable peeler down the zucchini hotdog style (the long way!) making long strips of “noonoos.” It helps to rotate the zucchini as you go along. Sprinkle liberally with salt and let sit in a colander. This drains the zucchini of moisture, making it more noodle-like! 

After letting it sit for about half an hour, squeeze out the last of the juices, and cook the noodles in boiling water for about 1 1/2 minutes. Then, drain and shock the noodles so they don’t continue to cook after they’ve been taken off the heat! 

Season with sesame oil, salt, and freshly ground pepper.

Image

 

To go with the noodles, I just cubed a tomato, about a quarter of a papaya, and half of an avocado and tossed it in some lime juice. In my opinion, tomatos, papayas, and avocados all have very complex flavors, so I didn’t think it was necessary to really add anything to it. Just some lime to ensure freshness, and some honey to balance it all out!

Image

 

Garnish with some scallions and voila! 

Image

 

I think some mint would’ve gone really well with this, but I unfortunately didn’t have any tonight… so maybe next time? I also wish I could’ve made some carrot noodles to go with the zucchini noodles. I guess this will be a project for next time! 

Happy Early Monday! 

 

3 thoughts on “Zucchini Noodles with Tomatoes, Papaya, and Avocados

  1. Interesting and very healthy! I’ll have to try this sometime. Or you can come out here and cook for me!!

Leave a Reply

